What is the Higher Learning Commission (HLC)?

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation, based in Chicago, IL, that was founded in 1895 with the purpose to accredit post-secondary education in the central United States.  The HLC looks at five major criterions for accreditation: 

  1. Mission 
  2. Ethics 
  3. Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support 
  4. Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement
  5. Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness.

What post-secondary education does HLC accredit?

Post-secondary education includes any education beyond high school, such as: Vocational School (Trade School), Community College (Junior College), Institutes of Technology, Artwork and Design Schools, Liberal Arts College. Personal or Public University and Online College.

In What States Does HLC Accredit?

The states in which HLC provides accreditation are Arizona, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.